The Art of Sudoku

I guess I can be an obsessive type on occasion. I quickly became obsessed with The 1975 when their first magical single was released: Chocolate. I was obsessed, and I mean the ultimate obsession came over me, with the full 2014 commercial/film for Chanel N°5, directed by Baz Luhrmann and starring Giselle Bündchen. I mean the soundtrack is the classic song from a favorite movie of mine, Grease, “You’re The One That I Want” and then covered/sung by Lo-Fang. It doesn’t get much better then that, but then again it can, because holy- the clothes and the setting of the film alone! Amazing! I just want to hug and squeeze Mr. Baz!… I digressed. But obsession can come through many things that I find to just really leap into my heart or my mind and don’t get out. I can’t help what my heart wants, and when something is captured in its iron, forged cage it’s not going to escape any time soon. But what I am really trying to get at is… have any of you out there ever played Sudoku?
Now this I can officially add to the obsession jar. I don’t think I have left my Blue Ribbon Sudoku Puzzles book by itself or away from my close vicinity for about two weeks now. An innocent stroll into the livingroom one night, while my mom was lounging and jotting away at a Sudoku of her own from the New York Times, led to a small spark of interest, which then burst into an obsessive flame. I don’t know how many sudoku’s I’ve done since my first encounter with this brilliant game, but I’m guessing, well, a lot.
Basically, the second I de-boarded my plane in San Diego about two weeks ago, and Robby had picked me up and we ventured home, I’m pretty sure it wasn’t even on California soil for an hour before I started whining about how I desperately needed to get a Sudoku puzzle book. After all, we were going to have a long journey ahead of us! First, we would travel to Las Vegas for a quick visit with [Robby] Harrah family friends, and then it would be on to Zion National Park for 4 days. I had to have a sudoku book for any pesky little phases of boredom I know were sure to occur.
Trusty Vons, in Solana Beach. Thank you for looking out for your loyal customer. You will be seeing me again at the cashier’s station with cash and a Blue Ribbon Sudoku book in hand. And thank you Sudoku, for keeping my boredom levels low and my brain nice and sharp. As long as you do this, you will continue to stay by my side, and be played.

• • • • •

– “The classic Sudoku game involves a grid of 81 squares. The grid is divided into nine blocks, each containing nine squares. The rules of the game are simple: each of the nine blocks has to contain all the numbers 1-9 within its squares. Each number can only appear once in a row, column or box.”

– K.A.P.

Leave a Reply

