The Hunt For The Elusive $3 Wines

I am introducing the commencement of the hunt for the best $3 wines.

I have come across a brand known as Oakleaf that is carried by Walmart, and I adore it. The Chardonnay and the Cabernet Sauvignon are about as far as I can go in drinking the types of the wines they offer, but never-the-less, I find myself scooting over to Walmart for my grocery store stops instead of H.E.B. now! This would have been a blasphemy to my grocery-store-going-religion at about this same time last year, or heck 10 days ago, but I find myself having a smaller and smaller budget each month as I feel as though evil, little fairies fly into the stores at night and mark up the prices with evil, little pens.

An equation I have quickly learned as it is now my senior year of college –
College + Money = Social Hopelessness. Saying “Yes!” when a friend wants to go out to dinner is just kinda a no-brainer, and something I find myself having to do to keep sane thoughout the week. I love going out to eat, in fact I could call this activity a hobby if it didn’t sound so unhealthy to a college girls wallet and figure. But back to the real topic – $3 wine. *Doesn’t that have a nice ring to it?*

One afternoon, I finally broke away from my Walmart wine run and headed over to the local Spec’s when I thought that for sure they could fulfill my 3-dollar desire. But, one purchase of a $3 bottle of Chardonnay later, I return to my home and pop it open. A sip, that I should have never had to experience on my tongue, left a bitter, silicon type of taste in my mouth for minutes leaving me regretful of my purchase that could’ve gone to a great Chipotle burrito! But you live, or purchase a crappy bottle of wine, and you learn. So, as I sat there disappointed with my sad sad glass in hand, I decided in that moment to create a competition for myself. – The Hunt For The Elusive $3 Wines.

Leave a comment to shed some light on my little predicament of wanting some yummy $3 pleasure. I know this is bound to be possible. Let me know if y’all have any wines that you would like to share! I would love the input.

Happy Hump Day & Cheers!!

– K.A.P.

Leave a Reply

